Retail Innovation: what we are, and why we’re here.

There are a lot of ways to define innovation. It can be new technology, off-the-wall ideas that turn into real solutions, or thinking that’s not limited by the normal and practical.

At BRR, innovation is the tools and ideas that keep us pushing ahead to always get better. It’s not about completely avoiding what’s been done, but how we can use what’s been done to do something better.

Our retail innovation team is a group of individuals coming together for that specific purpose. The team brings multiple disciplines together, and the common thread is that we’re all obsessed with retail and design, and love watching it evolve. We’re studying trends, paying attention to what has been done, what is being done, and what we think is next. The intent is focused on how we can help the companies we work with become better, but it truly starts with us getting stronger as a team. We’re sharing our opinions and what each of us thinks is cool. We’re talking about the things we love that are happening in today’s retail environment, and the things we could do without. And we’re developing our ideas for the built environment that maybe start off impractical, but eventually morph into viable solutions.

This also means taking some risks, because no revolutionary idea is exempt from trying and the potential of failing. Franklin Roosevelt said, “It is common sense to take a method and try it. If it fails, admit it frankly and try another. But above all, try something.” Roosevelt, Thomas Edison, Marie Curie, and any other visionary past or present know that, while it takes wiping out once or 28 times along the way, getting where you want to be is knowing you can be better, and making it happen. Our retail innovation group is just one manifestation of us knowing we rock at what we do, but that we’re never finished getting better.


Our Retail Innovation team, left to right: top – Rich Majors, Ryan Rosché, Jon Gripka, Jennifer Lehmkuhl and Tony Garza; bottom – Mathew Heatherly, Matt Henderson, Lindsey Michelson, Mike Galloway and Ashley Swanson.